Mister M presents
Seoul Metro

Seoul Metro Museum

The Seoul Metropolitan Subway is a metropolitan railway system consisting of 22 rapid transit, light metro, commuter rail and people mover lines located in northwest South Korea. The system serves most of the Seoul Metropolitan Area including the Incheon metropolis and satellite cities in Gyeonggi province. Some regional lines in the network stretch out beyond the Seoul Metropolitan Area to rural areas in northern Chungnam province and western Gangwon province, that lie over 100 km away from the capital.

The network consists of numbered lines 1 through 9, which serve Seoul City proper and its surroundings and other specifically named regional railways that serve the greater metropolitan region and beyond. Most of the system is operated by three companies – Seoul Metro, Korail (Korea National Railroad) and Metro 9. However, there are several other lines that stretch out to regional provinces.

Its first metro line, Line 1, started construction in 1971 and opened in 1974, with through-operation to Korail suburban railways. Today, the network is one of the largest and most efficient urban railway systems in the world, with 331.5 km (206.0 mi) of track on lines 1–9 alone; wireless and internet service on all trains; and platform screen doors at almost all stations.

Line 1, from Seongbuk station to Incheon station and Suwon station, opened on 15 August 1974. On 9 December 1978, the Yongsan-Cheongnyangni line (now part of the Jungang Line) was added to Line 1. Line 2 opened on 10 October 1980. In 1985, the fare system changed from charging by distance to zone and the Edmondson railway ticket changed to a magnetic paper ticket. Line 4 opened on 20 April 1985, and Line 3 on 12 July. On 1 April 1994, the Indeogwon-Namtaeryeong extension of Line 4 opened. The Bundang Line, from Suseo station to Ori station, opened on 1 September. On 15 November 1995, Line 5 opened.


MAPLINE routes

* Inquiries and Information: 02-3668-2300

* Holidays: every Monday (day off)

* Opening hours: February to May: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm
June to August: from 9:00 to 18:30
September to October: 09:00 to 18:00
November to January: 09:00 to 17:30
※ Reception ends 1 hour before

* Parking spaces: Big bus parking
-Gyeongbokgung car park is 10 minutes by car "Paid parking" is available
-There is this space for 50 buses, parking is available even if you are not a visitor to Gyeongbokgung Palace

System and history

Seoul, the capital of South Korea, has about 10 million inhabitants. The metro is actually operated by different companies:

The Seoul Metro operates lines 1-8 following the merger in 2017 of the Seoul Metropolitan Subway Corporation (Seoul Subway) (lines 1-4, built between 1971 and 1994) and the Seoul Metropolitan Rapid Transit Corporation (SMRT) (lines 5-8, built between 1990 and 2000).

Veolia operates the 9th line, opened in 2009.

Korail (Korean Railway, formerly Korean National Railway) operates Line 1 (except Seoul Station to Cheongnyangni), Ilsan Line (Line 3 north of Jichuk; now designated Line 3), Gwacheon and Ansan Lines (Line 4 south of Namtaryong ; now indicated by line 4), Bundan and Suin lines ...

Video about Railway transport. How we ride the train in the Subway of Seoul, South Korea. The Korean subway is just super - 9 lines, 311 stations, comfortable trains. I think one of the Best Metro (subway) is in Seoul, South Korea.